#### **Draft Minutes**

# 71<sup>sh</sup> Annual General Meeting of the Physical Crystallography Group of the British Crystallographic Association and Structural Condensed Matter Group of the Institute of Physics 12:15 pm 9th April 2014 at University of Loughborough

17 members were present including the following committee members: Ivana Evans (Chair), John Claridge (Treasurer), Paul Saines (Secretary), Mike Glazer (Education Officer), Emma McCabe, Anthony Phillips and Jerome Wicker (YCG rep).

### 1. Apologies for absence

Formal apologies for absence were received from Matt Tucker and Christoph Salzmann.

# 2. Minutes from the 70<sup>th</sup> AGM held at Warwick on the 29<sup>th</sup> of August 2013

The recorded minutes were accepted as an accurate record of the meeting. Approval was proposed by John Claridge and seconded by Paul Saines.

## 3. Matters Arising from minutes

No matters arose from the previous minutes.

# 4. Chair's report

## a. Meetings

The PCG-SCMP winter meeting 2013 at Cosener's House was held jointly with the ISIS Crystallography User Group Meeting, 11-12<sup>th</sup> November 2013". The scientific programme featured 14 talks (by experienced and younger researchers), the 2013 PANalytical thesis prize talk (Mark Senn), and an excellent poster session. The chair thanked Matt Tucker and Paul Saines for organising.

# b. PCG-SCMP Membership

The current PCG-SCMP group membership has 247 SCMP members on the IoP database and 73 members on the BCA database.

#### c. Prizes

This year the PANalytical Thesis Prize 2014 was awarded to Alexander Hearmon (Oxford Physics), for his PhD thesis entitled "Neutron, X-ray, and Optical Studies of Multiferroic Materials".

If the funding for the prize is continued, the call for the 2015 PANalytical Thesis Prize is likely to be issued in the autumn 2014 (in the Newsletter and by email). This will apply to successfully examined theses submitted in the period from 1<sup>st</sup> September 2013 to 31<sup>st</sup> December 2014.

The IoP-sponsored Physical Crystallography Prize for 2014 was awarded to Roger Johnson for his work on multiferroics.

Ivana Evans thanked the community for putting forward excellent nominations for prizes, PANalytical and the IoP for their continued support of these prizes and the PCG-SCMP committee members for judging the nominations and voting.

#### d. Communication

It was stated by the chair that main formal routes for communication continue to be the PCG-SCMP Newsletter, and the wiki-based web pages (www.pcg-scmp.org).

Ivana Evans thanked the Newsletter Editor Emma McCabe for coordinating the Newsletter, everyone who has have contributed articles, our web-master Matt Tucker for maintaining the wiki site, and Mike Glazer for maintaining the Education pages.

#### e. Future Activities

The PCG-SCMP winter meeting 2014 will be held jointly with the ISIS Crystallography User Group Meeting in the Cosener's House, with tentative dates being the 6<sup>th</sup> and 7<sup>th</sup> of November. Matthis Gutmann is leading the programme organisation on behalf of the committee, with local support from Matt Tucker.

#### f. Vacancies

Ivana Evans thanked a retiring committee member, Dave Allan, for his contributions. The vacancies on the committee were announced and nominations sought over the last couple of months. Elections of new members (group Chair and ordinary members) will take place shortly.

Anthony Phillips was also thanked for this efforts during a term as the YC liaison on the PCG-SCMP committee finishes.

# 5. Treasurer's report

In the 2013 year £2,500 was spent with £1000 of this on the winter meeting and £1,500 on a PDF workshop. This year £3,050 was requested from the IoP, including support for the Durham Rietveld School, the winter meeting and the IoP Physical Crystallography prize. £2500 was received of which £500 has been used for the IoP Physical Crystallography prize and £50 will be used for the PCG-SCMP poster prize. £1000 is due to be spent the PCG-SCMP contribution to the winter meeting. The remaining £1000 originally planned for use to support the Durham Rietveld School was not utilised and John Claridge has requested ideas for additional meetings that could be supported within the PCG-SCMP remit.

#### 6. Elections to the PCG-SCMP Committee

Outgoing members Ivana Evans and Dave Allen were thanked for all their hard work over the years.

Elections of new members of the committee were carried out as follows:

- a. Chair: Matt Tucker; proposed by Paul Saines and seconded by Emma McCabe
- b. Ordinary Members:

Phil Lightfoot; proposed by Paul Saines and seconded by Emma McCabe

Mark Senn; proposed by Ivana Evans and seconded by John Claridge

Anthony Phillips; proposed by John Claridge and seconded by Ivana Evans

As these were the only nominations they were carried out unopposed. John Claridge requested he be allowed to step down from Treasurer to Ordinary member status due to being unable to fully complete the required responsibilities due to other commitments. Anthony Phillips agreed to take on the role as treasurer and as no objections were stated this change was approved.

## 7. Future Meetings

The BCA 2015 Spring meeting will be held in late March at the University of York. Emma McCabe and Paul Saines are the PCG-SCMP organising committee and requested ideas from the community for themes for sessions.

## 8. Any Other Buisness

A question was asked regarding the overlap of IoP SCMP and BCA PCG memberships. Ivana Evans responded that while there would be some this is thought to be small and she was only aware of two cases personally.

Discussions took place regarding the future of the PANAlytical thesis prize due to PANalytical wanting to review it, possibly due to the launch of a competing Rigaku prize. John Claridge raised the concept of changing the prize entry rules to stipulate the winner be continuing in someway to be part of the scientific community. This was considered for this year but at too late a stage to be implemented. Bill David commented on the possibility of a member of the judging panel being from PANalytical. Ivana Evans noted previously that there had been no desire from the sponsor for this but that it could be reconsidered if the sponsors considered this desirable.

Jerome Wicker was introduced and welcomed into the committee as the new YCG representative. The outgoing committee members, in particularly Ivana Evans and John Claridge (in his previous role as treasurer) were again thanked for all their work over the years.

# Financial summary 2013

Balance as of 1.01.2013	£0.00
Group income for 2013	£2,500.00
Group expenditure in 2013	-£2,500.00
Balance as of 31.12.2013	£0.00
Details of Spending in 2013 Accounts	
Miscellaneous	
Committee expenses	£0.00
Speaker expenses	£0.00
Postage/printing	£0.00
Total misc	£0.00
Prizes in 2013	00.00
None	£0.00
Total Prizes	£0.00
Mastings	
Meetings	£1,000,00
2013 Winter meeting	£1,000.00
Total meeting expenses	£1,000.00
2013 Meeting support	
2013 2 day PDF satellite workshop	£1,500.00
Total meeting support	£1,500.00
Total mooning support	32,00000
Total expenditure 2013	£2,500.00
IOP bid for projected spend in 2014	
Citt F	00.00
Committee Expenses Newsletter & Communications	£0.00 £0.00
PCG-SCMP prize support	£550.00
Winter meeting	£950.00
Meeting Expenses	£1,000.00
Total requested budget for 2014	£2,500.00
Toma requested conspect for 2011	22,300.00
Total approved budget for 2014	£2,500.00