First announcement



Dielectrics 2015

22–24 April 2015 National Physical Laboratory, Teddington, UK

Organised by the IOP Dielectrics Group

http://dielectrics2015.iopconfs.org

IOP Institute of Physics



The IOP's Dielectrics Group is hosting its biennial conference at the National Physical Laboratory to explore the ever-expanding areas of dielectrics research and application. The year 2015 will mark the 44th anniversary of the IOP Dielectrics Group, and formerly Dielectrics Society, conferences in the UK.

The conference will welcome contributions from physicists, chemists, materials scientists, engineers and technologists. The aim is to encourage much crossover between the main themes.

The conference will include all areas of study pertinent to dielectrics. This year there will be a special session on quantum technologies so that delegates can learn about this important new area of dielectrics research.

The sessions will be as follows:

- Dielectric breakdown
- Hi-K dielectrics and applications
- Quantum technologies
- Experimental techniques

Speakers

Keynote speaker

• TBA

Invited speakers

• Prof. Alun Vaughan, University of Southampton, UK

Dielectric Breakdown Session

- Prof. Marty Gregg, Queens University Belfast, UK Hi-k Dielectrics and Applications Session
- Prof. Ben Murdin, University of Surrey, UK Quantum technologies
- Prof. Neil Alford, Imperial College London, UK Experimental techniques

Call for abstracts

Submission of abstracts is now open for oral and contributed poster presentations. Abstracts should be submitted on topics pertinent to one of the four sessions.

Abstract files, which can include a maximum of one figure and three references, should be submitted online at **http://dielectrics2015.iopconfs.org** by 28 February 2015.

Venue

The National Physical Laboratory is the host venue for Dielectrics 2015 and is located nearby to both Teddington and Fulwell railway stations.

Travel to and from the conference centre is easy and convenient: Buses 281, 285, R68, 33, 481 and X26 serve Teddington and if travelling from central London, trains from London Waterloo leave regularly and the journey time is approximately 30 minutes.



The venue is conveniently located for those arriving from Heathrow. The X26 and 285 buses provide a direct connection from the airport to Teddington and run 24 hours, departing every 10 minutes. The journey time is approximately 45 minutes.

Accommodation

Participants should make their own arrangements for accommodation. For more information, please visit http://dielectrics2015.iopconfs.org/venue.

Key dates

| Abstract submission deadline: | 28 February 2015 |
|-------------------------------|------------------|
| Early registration deadline: | 20 March 2015 |
| Registration deadline: | 17 April 2015 |

Registration

Registration is now open and available via the conference website. Concessions are available for members and student members of IOP and co-sponsoring organisations.

Registration fees

Early registration fees (before or on 20 March 2015)*

| IOP Member | £190 |
|--------------------|------|
| IOP Concessionary | £96 |
| Non-member | £290 |
| Student non-member | £111 |

*online registration with credit/debit card payment

Exhibition and sponsorship

A table-top exhibition will be held alongside the conference. The exhibition will provide companies in the field and related areas of dielectrics the opportunity to demonstrate their products to a captive audience.

We also invite sponsorship from companies and organisations wishing to raise their profile within the community and increase their visibility at the conference.

For sponsorship details and booking information visit the conference website http://dielectrics2015.iopconfs.org.

Enquiries

Jon Roe Institute of Physics 76 Portland Place London W1B 1NT, UK Tel +44 (0)20 7470 4908 E-mail **jon.roe@iop.org**

First announcement

Organising committee

Chair

Prof. Ronald Pethig, FInstP University of Edinburgh

Secretary

Dr John Blackburn, MInstP National Physical Laboratory

Treasurer

Dr Stephen Dodd, MInstP University of Salford

Ordinary Members

Prof. Darryl Almond, CEng, CPhys, FInstP University of Bath

Dr Sillas Hadjiloucas, CPhys, MInstP University of Reading

Dr Jonathan Swingler, CPhys, FInstP University of Southampton

Prof. Anthony West, CPhys, FInstP University of Sheffield

Prof. Markys Cain, CPhys, MInstP National Physical Laboratory

Dr Nicolas G Green, MInstP University of Southampton

Institute of Physics

76 Portland Place, London W1B 1NT, UK Tel +44 (0)20 7470 4800 Fax +44 (0)20 7470 4848 www.iop.org/conferences

Registered Charity Number: 293851

IOP Institute of Physics