The 65th Annual General Meeting of the Physical Crystallography Group of the British Crystallographic Association and Structural Condensed Matter Group of the Institute of Physics

11:45 am Wednesday 9th April 2007, York

- 1. Apologies for absence
- 2. Minutes from the 64th AGM held at Kent, 18th April 2007
- 3. Matters arising from minutes
- 4. Chairman's report
- 5. Secretary/Treasurer's report
- 6. Elections to PCG/SCMP committee
- 7. Future Meetings
- 8. Any other business

Elections to Committee

There are vacancies arising for Chairman, Vice Chairman, and one Ordinary Member. Paolo Radaelli and Dave Allen are due to retired from the committee after 3 years service. Please email any nominations to the PCG/SCMP secretary (<u>m.g.tucker@rl.ac.uk</u>) by 7th April 2007.

Current Committee

Name	Grade	Since
Paolo Radaelli	Chairman	2005
Dave Allan	Vice Chairman	2005
Matt Tucker	Honorary Secretary/Treasurer	2006
John Loveday	Ordinary Member	2003
Ivana Evans	Ordinary Member	2006
Andrew Wills	Ordinary Member	2004
Sarena Margadonna	Ordinary Member	2006
Andrew Goodwin	Ordinary Member	2007
Peter Hatton	Seconded Ordinary Member	2007
Helen Maynard	YC representative	2007

The 63rd Annual General Meeting of the Physical Crystallography Group of the British Crystallographic Association and Structural Condensed Matter Group of the Institute of Physics

12:15 Tuesday 4th April 2006, Lancaster

There were 16 members present. Committee members present: Paolo Radaelli, Dave Allan, John Evans, John Loveday, Jon Wright, Mina Golshan.

- 1. Formal apologies for absence were received from Andrew Wills and Pam Thomas.
- 2. Minutes of the 62nd AGM held at Loughborough were circulated and accepted as an accurate record of the meeting.
- 3. There were no matters arising from minutes
- 4. Paolo Radaelli reported on another active year for the PCG/SCMP. Specific topics discussed were:
 - A successful school on magnetic Rietveld refinement was held at Cosener's house in November 2005; thanks to Juan Rodriguez Carvajal – LLB, Paolo G. Radaelli – ISIS, Andrew Wills – UCL, Laurent Chapon – ISIS, Aziz Daoud-Aladine – ISIS for teaching and local organisation.
 - b. The PCG/SCMP prize (£1000) attracted strong applications. To prevent conflicts of interest it was judged by an external committee who were thanked for their efforts. The prize was announced and a lecture given later in the meeting by Dr Matt Tucker (ISIS) for work on total scattering of framework inorganic materials to probe their structure and dynamics.
 - c. The second Panalytical Thesis prize (£500) again attracted strong applications. The prize was announced/awarded to Dr Andrew Goodwin (Cambridge University, supervisor Prof. Martin Dove) for a thesis entitled "Dynamics from Powder Diffraction" later in the meeting at the conference dinner. Dr Goodwin will be invited to present his work at a future PCG/SCMP meeting.
 - d. Sessions on high pressure, topology and a topas training workshop have been organised by the PCG/SCMP for the BCA meeting.
 - e. Sessions on "orbital ordering" and "magnetism" have been organised in collaboration with the neutron scattering and magnetism groups for CMMP06.
 - f. The committee apologised for the lack of a winter meeting in 2005.
 - g. The 2006 winter meeting will be held on 25/10/06 in Edinburgh and will be entitled "A Snapshot of UK Physical Crystallography". JL/DA are local organisers.
 - h. A structural Rietveld refinement school will be held in Durham in early January 2007; John and Ivana Evans will be local organisers. The structural and magnetic schools will continue to alternate so that each generation of graduate students have the opportunity of attending.
 - i. The PCG/SCMP will support a meeting on protein crystallography by powder diffraction to be held in 2007 in Grenoble. JW is local organiser.

- j. Comments were invited from the meeting about the possibility of methods by which the current PCG/SCMP teaching activities could be formalised and possibly "accredited" as part of postgraduate student training requirements. The meeting was broadly supportive of this activity. Paul Fewster offered to discuss the issue with the IOP accreditation committee on which he serves. The PCG/SCMP committee agreed to think further on this topic.
- 5. IOP matters were discussed under the Secretary/Treasurer's report.
- 6. There were no BCA matters raised.
- 7. Honorary Secretary/Treasurer's report:
 - a. The secretary/treasurer presented the annual IOP activity report to the meeting and the financial summary appended. Minor financial discrepancies reported to the 2005 AGM due to double payment of a cheque by the IOP have been corrected.
 - b. Issues regarding proposed changes to the IOP funding model were described. In brief it appears that current group funds will be zeroed at the end of this year and that the group will have to bid in advance for funds in the future. A plan for forward spend to support activities to the end of 2006 was presented to the meeting and agreed. Future committees will need to ensure that funding applications are submitted at the appropriate time. More details will become available during meetings for group officers to be held in May at the IOP. Action: group representatives to attend forthcoming IOP meetings.
 - c. A PCG "annual diary" (appended) was presented for discussion to help future committees.
- Committee posts for Honorary Secretary/Treasurer and ordinary members (retirement of John Evans after 3+1 years, Jon Loveday at the end of a three year term; resignation of Jacqui Cole/Dave Laundy after 1 year) were available. Nominations for posts are detailed below. All were elected unopposed.
 - a. Honorary Secretary: Matt Tucker. Proposed: John Evans; Seconded: Dave Allan.
 - b. Ordinary Member: Jon Loveday (re-election). Proposed Paolo Radaelli; Seconded: Dave Allan.
 - c. Ordinary Member: Ivana Evans. Proposed: Judith Howard; Seconded: Chick Wilson.
 - d. Ordinary Member: Sarena Margadonna. Proposed: Paolo Radaelli; Seconded: Jon Wright.
- 9. Future meetings are detailed in the Chair's report above. John Helliwell asked the committee to consider the topic of single molecule diffraction for either an Autumn meeting or as a strand to a future spring meeting. **Action:** Group representative to raise at BCA planning meeting.

Financial summary 2006

Balance as of 31.12.2006	£913.74
Group expenditure in 2006	£4,477.12
Group income for 2006	£0.00
Balance as of 31.12.2006	£5,390.86

Details of Spending in 2006 Accounts

Miscellaneous	
Committee expenses	£70.80
Speaker expenses	£161.39
Postage/printing	£63.00
Total misc	£224.39
Prizes in 2006	
Matt Tucker	£1,000.00
Lars Fahl Lundegaard	£50.00
Total Bursaries	£1,050.00
Bursaries in 2006	
Dr Andrew Goodwin	£250.00
Dr Olga Degtyareva	£200.00
Sudhi Singh	£200.00
Total Bursaries	£650.00
2006 Winter Meeting	
Refreshments	£176.00
Speaker expenses	£376.73
Total winter meeting expenses	£552.73
2006 Meeting support	
2006 Rietveld School	£1,000.00
Sagamore conference support	£1,000.00
Total meeting support	£2,000.00

IOP bid for project spend in 2007

Total approved budget for 2007	£3,410.00
Rietveld school support/bursaries	£1,000.00
Winter meeting underwrite	£1,000.00
Group Grant / Bursary	£1,000.00
PCG prize support	£50.00
Newsletter & Communications	£60.00
Committee Expenses	£300.00

Notes:

The new IOP system is now in place, so the 2006 account will be clear and the 2007 budget awarded on the bidding system