Jump to navigationJump to search

PANalytical Thesis Prize for Physical Crystallography

Thesis Prize 2017

The PCG-SCMP is pleased to invite entries for the PANalytical Thesis Prize in Physical Crystallography. The prize will be awarded for the best use of techniques or methods of Physical Crystallography in a successfully examined thesis submitted in the period from 1st January 2015 to 31st December 2016.

In order for a thesis to be eligible for the award, the Physical Crystallography element must be central to the work of the thesis, which must also demonstrate a context over and above structural work for its own sake. The candidate must be a member of the Structural Condensed Matter Group of the IoP and/or the Physical Crystallography Group of the BCA. Non-members may enter the competition but will be required to join the IoP/SCMP or the BCA/PCG at the student rate to progress their nomination further. Full eligibility criteria and procedures for the PANalytical thesis prize can be found here.

To enter the competition, candidates must submit: (a) a copy of the thesis in electronic format. (b) a personal statement of not more than 500 words explaining why the thesis should be considered for the prize and including a clear description of the role of Physical Crystallography (as broadly defined on the website in the research. (c) the names and contact details of two academic referees, one of whom may be the thesis supervisor, who will be able to comment on the thesis research of the candidate.

Nominations for the prize must be submitted to the PCG-SCMP Chair, Prof. Andrew Goodwin, by 17th March 2017. The Prize will be awarded at the BCA Spring meeting at University of Lancaster, 10th - 13th April 2017.

Previous winners
  • 2016 Andrew Cairns (Department of Chemistry, University of Oxford) "Mechanical and configurational degeneracy in transition metal cyanide materials"
  • 2015 Josh Makepeace (Department of Chemistry, University of Oxford) "Light metal amides for hydrogen storage and ammonia decomposition"
  • 2014 Alexander Hearmon (Department of Physics, University of Oxford) "Neutron, X-ray, and Optical Studies of Multiferroic Materials"
  • 2013 Mark Senn (Department of Chemistry, University of Edinburgh) "Charge, Orbital and Magnetic Ordering in Transition Metal Oxides”"
  • 2012 Lucian Pascut (School of Physics, Bristol University) "Neutron and Resonant X-ray Scattering Studies of Low Dimensional Quantum Magnets"
  • 2011 Stuart Bland (Department of Physics, Durham University) "X-Ray Scattering Studies of Charge and Orbital Ordering in Transition Metal Oxides"
  • 2010 Helen Maynard-Casely (Department of Physics, University of Edinburgh) "The new mineralogy of the outer solar system and the high-pressure behaviour of methane"
  • 2009 Aurora Cruz-Cabeza (Department of Chemistry, University of Cambridge) “On the Prediction, Rationalisation and Discovery of New Crystal Forms”
  • 2008 Lars Lundegaard (Department of Physics, University of Edinburgh) “High-Pressure Difraction Studies of Rubidium Phase IV”
  • 2007 Lynne Thomas (Department of Chemistry, University of Glasgow) “Disorder in Substituted Benzenes by Combined Diffraction and Computational Studies”.
  • 2006 Andrew Goodwin (Department of Earth Sciences, University of Cambridge) "Dynamics from Powder Diffraction"
  • 2005 Dominic Fortes (UCL) "Crystallisation of Ammonia Hydrates under High Pressure"

The Physical Crystallography Prize

Prize rules in pdf format

Physical Crystallography Prize

The Physical Crystallography Prize is awarded for the best recently published work by a person in the early stages of their career, working in the field of Physical Crystallography, whose research is expected to make a significant impact in the field. The award is traditionally presented at the BCA Spring Meeting and the winner gives a Prize Lecture at that meeting.

The Prize will next be awarded in 2018.

History of the Prize

For many years, Phillips Analytical have sponsored a prize lecture in physical crystallography. Since the purchase of Philips Analytical by Spectris PLC in September 2002 the company is trading under the name of PANalytical Limited. PANalytical agreed to continue to sponsor the annual award for Physical Crystallography, which was renamed the "PANalytical Physical Crystallography Award". Since the 2006 edition, the prize has been sponsored by the Institute of Physics, and has been again renamed the "Physical Crystallography Award". The award is presented for the best recently published work (say 2-3 papers in the last few years) by a person in the early stages of their career in the field of Physical Crystallography. It is to be expected that his or her research has or is expected to make a significant impact in this field. The award is traditionally made at the Annual BCA Spring Meeting and the recipient is expected to give an oral presentation of his or her work at that meeting. The PCG-SCMP committee decide on the awardee and award the prize, which currently consists of a cash award of £500.

Previous winners
  • 2016 Dr Paul Saines (Kent)
  • 2014 Dr Roger Johnson (Oxford)
  • 2012 Dr Jonathan Wright (ESRF)
  • 2010 Dr Christoph Salzmann (Durham)
  • 2008 Dr Laurent Chapon (ISIS)
  • 2006 Dr Matt Tucker (Cambridge University)
  • 2004 Dr Andrew Wills (UCL)
  • 2001 Dr Jens Kreisel (Warwick)
  • 1999 Dr Mark Harris
  • 1998 Dr Alison Pawley
  • 1997 Dr Kenneth Harris
  • 1996 Dr Chick Wilson (ISIS)
  • 1995 Dr Werner Kaminsky
  • 1993 Dr Simon Redfern
  • 1992 Dr Pamela Thomas
  • 1991 Dr Ross Angel
  • 1990 Dr Martin Dove (Cambridge)
  • 1989 Dr Lynne McCusker

Remit of Physical Crystallography in connection with Prizes

Methods and techniques of Physical Crystallography will be interpreted in a broad fashion, for example, to include x-ray and neutron diffraction or scattering, Rietveld analysis and structure refinement, total scattering, structure-property relationships, development of structure-solution techniques, crystallography under non-ambient conditions, use of complementary techniques to diffraction (e.g. optical studies, NMR), computational crystallography and modelling, electron diffraction, diffuse scattering, applications of physical crystallography in biology.