Revision as of 11:41, 13 February 2007 by Matt (Talk | contribs) (New page: ==Thesis Prize== ==Prize Lecture for Physical Crystallography== '''History of the Prize''' For many years, Phillips Analytical have sponsored a prize lecture in physical crystallogra...)

(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

Thesis Prize

Prize Lecture for Physical Crystallography

History of the Prize

For many years, Phillips Analytical have sponsored a prize lecture in physical crystallography. Since the purchase of Philips Analytical by Spectris PLC in September 2002 the company is trading under the name of PANalytical Limited. PANalytical have agreed to continue to sponsor the annual award for Physical Crystallography, which will be renamed the "PANalytical Physical Crystallography Award". The award is presented for the best recently published work (say 2-3 papers in the last few years) by a relatively young person (usually 35 years of age or younger) working in the field of Physical Crystallography. It is to be expected that his or her research has or is expected to make a significant impact in this field. The award is traditionally made at the Annual BCA Spring Meeting and the recipient is expected to give an oral presentation of his or her work at that meeting. The committee of the Physical Crystallography Group (also known as the Structural Condensed Matter Group of the IoP) decide on the awardee and PANalytical sponsor the prize, which currently consists of a cash award of £500 plus expenses for attending the Spring Meeting to deliver the award lecture. The Award is presented by a representative of PANalytical.